The hunt for a cheap wedding dress – Part 2

As you know I am currently on the lookout for a lovely (but inexpensive) wedding dress for my upcoming big day. If you haven’t already read part 1 of this blog series, you can catch up here.

I was pretty convinced about where I was going to buy my dress from, however, after reading the comments on my previous post I’ve taken a slight turn in a different direction. Some of the comments backed the idea of buying a dress from the high street, and after doing a bit of research online I am starting to think I might just do this myself.

I’ve never been a lover of clothes shopping, it’s something I find very frustrating so I don’t do it very often, meaning I only know some of the bigger brands out there. One thing I did which has really helped me discover what is out there is to look on eBay. I made my way to the dresses category, then filtered by occasion, look/style, and colour and I was blown away by the amount of beautiful dresses there were. Lots of them were from the likes of Asos, Monsoon, etc. but there were even more from brands I have never heard of before, but after a bit of research I can see that they are brands which are sold by some of the bigger department stores, Debenhams and House of Fraser for example.

If you’re unsure about the style of dress you want to go for I would definitely recommend doing an eBay search first and filtering by the look you want. Looking back at when I first starting searching for a dress, I did feel a bit tied down to what is currently trending style-wise, which isn’t necessarily what I want. I’ve always been a big fan of 1930’s fashion and I hadn’t realised that there are so many lovely dresses out there that have taken inspiration from that time, the main problem was not knowing where to look!

So this is the direction I’m heading in now. I’m so thankful to those of you that posted comments in my last blog post, it really did give me food for thought and I feel a lot more confident now about what I want. (Basically, I’d like to be Ginger Rogers for a day, is that too much to ask?!) 🙂

giphy

Check back soon for the next part of the saga!

Lyndsey


One thought on “The hunt for a cheap wedding dress – Part 2

Leave a comment